Backup/restore and recover deleted items
AppRiver creates industry standard daily backups of all system configurations and mailboxes. These backups are maintained in order to facilitate quick and accurate recovery if a mailbox becomes corrupted or fails for another reason. This helps protect a customer in the event AppRiver suffers a system failure.
Deleted Item/Mailbox Retention
AppRiver's servers are configured to allow recovery of deleted mailboxes or mailbox items for a period of 30 days. If a User deletes an item from his or her mailbox, the system will allow the User to restore the item via Microsoft Outlook®. Deleted Item/Mailbox retention allows Users to recover data after they execute a delete command against an individual mailbox or individual mailbox item. Data can only be restore on a per item basis. This means if you delete a folder the folder container will be deleted but all items inside will be moved to recover deleted items. Items deleted from deleted item retention can be recovered from the purges folder on the Exchange server by the AppRiver Support Team.
Recover deleted items in Outlook
- Click on the folder you want to restore the deleted items to. NOTE: You can create a new folder (ie Recovered items) and use this to sort through items.
- Click on folder tab at top.
- Choose Recover Deleted items.
Recover deleted items in Outlook Web Access
Login to Outlook Web Access.
Right Click on the Deleted items folder and choose Recover Deleted Items.
NOTE: Data can only be restored on a per item basis. This means if you delete a folder the folder container will be deleted but all items inside will be moved to recover deleted items.
- You can restore items individually.
- You can hold the Ctrl key and click different items to restore multiple selected items at one time.
- You can use the select all function to restore all the items.
Once you have selected the items you want to restore click the Recover selected items option at the top. NOTE: This process may take a few minutes depending on the amount of data you choose to restore.